• Evermore
  • Posts
  • The beauty of simple things and how they become memories

The beauty of simple things and how they become memories

This morning

I was sitting in my usual armchair, having my coffee, and I heard some birds singing. London is nice and sunny today. When it is like this, it reminds me of my always-sunny hometown, Mexico City. Funny how I did not seem to notice this as much back in the days when I used to live there.

The morning after my dad died, I remember waking up and opening the curtains. The sun was shining, the birds were singing. Technically, I did not have a reason to feel 'joy' that morning, but I did.

I took it as a sign from the universe, as if it were trying to show me there is still beauty and little things to appreciate despite the sadness that death or any other life change brings.

It showed me that awe and pain can coexist, that I can feel sad, yet extremely grateful for the people and nature that surround me. It gave me hope.

It also made me understand life’s cycles better. That life keeps going, no matter what, and it is you who is in control of your perspective on what is around you and how you react to it. The show will go on, with you or without you.

One of the many things I have learned from my dad is to appreciate the little things in life and live in the moment (God! he wasn’t really a long-term thinker lol!).

I often choose not to always follow his footsteps, but the little things like having a coffee on my own in a cafe I like with a bit of pastry are the sort of things that make me remember him with a smile and a warm heart. I close my eyes and it's like if I was living it for him, but also for me.

How have you practiced 'wonderment' this week?

On that note, here is a song I have been enjoying a lot today, hope you like it too:

Edith Whiskers - It’s ok (Duet version)

You can listen on:

See you in 2 weeks!

Fernanda

Reply

or to participate.