• Evermore
  • Posts
  • My podcast debut: How grief can induce creativity

My podcast debut: How grief can induce creativity

Hello again!

I took an unannounced summer break but I am back with lots of ideas for this newsletter (more on that soon!)

When I started to write about my experience, I did it with the intention to

  1. Help people get comfortable with openly talking / thinking about death, so in the future you are hopefully open but also equipped to address these sort of topics with anyone around you, but specially your loved ones.

  2. A way to explore self-reflection creatively based on my experience accompanying my dad through his illness, dealign with our emotions and now, my grief. I find an opportunity in this space and with Evermore to express myself.

Speaking of creativity and expressing myself (and stepping out of my comfort zone – which usually involves me behind this screen typing away)… I was invited to the “Living with Dying” podcast by Dilys Morgan to talk about my experience with death.

It felt surreal, yet surprisingly comfortable, to sit down with someone I didn’t know yet felt deeply connected to because of our shared experiences. We’ve both grown and appreciated life in a different way through our losses.

During this conversation, I opened up about the reasons behind creating Evermore, my journey to becoming an end-of-life doula, and shared insights from the perspectives of a daughter, a friend, a colleague, and a stranger who lost her dad – a loss that changed my life.

Take 30 mins today

I’d love for you to take 30 minutes to listen to this episode. Find one of those tedious tasks you’ve been putting off and let this entertain you while you tackle it. By the way… this weekend, I binge-watched the entire new season of Emily in Paris. But to avoid the guilt of lounging on the sofa like a couch potato for hours, I folded over 100 plastic bags while doing so. So…you know what I mean – find something you’ve been dreading to do and let this episode keep you company!

Access this conversation via Spotify 👇

(IF you are an skeptic and don’t trust the links, go to your Spotify’s search bar and search for ‘Living with dying’ podcast, click episode 34 and voila!)

Once you’ve listened to it, I would love to hear how has this made you reflect across different areas of your life - or not! - just reply to this email.

See you soon,

Fernanda

Reply

or to participate.